Christmas Day: Red Velvet Waffles and Breakfast in Bed

img_1470A few months.  This is how long it takes me to sleep one full night in my new bed.  I almost always start sleep on my old bed (the couch) and then make my way in the early morning hours or late morning hours depending on the time I arrive home.  It takes a while for the bedding to arrive.  Matteo Bedding Los Angeles is made to order and Pure&Linen is in Lithuania and SHOP2016 on Etsy is in Belarus.  All worth the wait.

inspiration bed from Pinterest
inspiration bed from Pinterest

IMG_4508

2016-09-13-15-12-51-0700

bedding from Matteo Los Angeles and Etsy's Pure Linen start to arrive..
bedding from Matteo Los Angeles and Etsy’s Pure Linen start to arrive..

2016-09-13-15-27-02-0700img_1115-2

img_1113

Now that my bed is dressed time for breakfast in bed. If you missed I Built a Bed for Breakfast in Bed, all details on me building the bed platform and awaiting mattress delivery and ecetra can be found there.

Today is Christmas.  Red Velvet Waffles on the menu.  I am not a fan of red velvet anything usually.  I always taste, usually almost fully consume and then I think, I didn’t really like that. The more I eat it, I think I’ll like it.  One would think I would love the red velvets given that there is Southern blood in my veins and red velvet is part of the DNA.  ButterMilkTruck.com has red velvet pancake/waffles mix.  This is my red velvet exception.  Throw in Valrhona chocolate chips (not that you need to) and bourbon maple syrup with these red velvet waffles-trifecta. Need I mention, DELICIOUS!!  Recipe is simple and on the back of the package.

img_2785

Ingredients you will need: I cup of Buttermilk Red Velvet Pancake Mix, I Egg, 1/4 cup of Buttermilk, 1 TBSP oil, 1/2 TSP Cider Vinegar

Method:  Mix egg, buttermilk, oil and vinegar in a bowl with a whisk.  Add the pancake mix to the mixture a d mix well until a smooth, thick batter forms.  (I let mine rest in the refrigerator over night)  Cook Pancake on a griddle at 275-300 F or on a non-stick pan at medium low heat.  Flip pancakes when edges start to rise for about 1.5 minutes each side.  Add chocolate chips for a decadent version!

I use a Cuisinart Waffle Maker on 3 as I am making waffles.  Spray the inside with a non-stick cooking spray of choice.

Here are some photos, mostly outtakes and me just being silly.  It is Christmas after all.

 

img_1457

img_2805

img_2809

img_1468

img_1471-3

img_2806

img_2814

img_2810

img_2821

img_2798

img_2797

img_2799-3

img_2764

img_2737

img_2736

img_2717

img_2754

img_2752

img_2789

I am so cozy and I love my bedding.  I stay in bed most of the day.  Hope your day was as relaxing and food delicious as mine.  Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Until Next Time..

img_2804-3

 

 

Leave a Reply

