Soothe my Sunburn

img_4866In a desperate attempt to feel summer, I grab an extra book and coconut water to go with my already packed beach bag in my car. The beaches of Santa Monica are not crowded today and conditions are prime for beach sunning, relaxing and napping. The sounds of the waves, the breeze.. I am soon to sleep.  A little too long however and instead of coming home a bronzed beauty, I look more like a lobster shell colored person.  Ouch!  My skin feels hot and crackly and chills run down my back in almost timed rhythm.  I try clear aloe gel from my refrigerator.  While it feels good, sort of, it doesn’t seem to be enough.  Google!  What did we do without google?  Everydayroots.com has the answer.  Seventeen remedies for that matter. From potatoes, baking soda, milk to cornstarch. All are soothers to sunburned skin. I scroll through the home remedies and find one that calls to me.  Cornstarch.  Yep.  This kitchen ingredient when added with water makes a smooth soothing paste that feels oh so nice. It also reduces the skin’s red glow in the process.  Why does it work?  There are alkaline and antiseptic properties that help restore the skins balance while healing. Our skin is our largest organ.  And, sadly, one I often take for granted.

What actually happens when the skin gets burned by the sun?  Huffingtonpost.com published an article, What Actually Happens When You Get A Sunburn.  To sum it up, a little, the epidermis, the outer layers of our skin, get damaged. No skin burns the same.  Using sunscreen is key.  And always remember to reapply.

Back to my remedy..

small batch test
small batch test
add corn starch to mixing bowl
add corn starch to mixing bowl
playing for consistency
playing for consistency
once I find I transfer to a larger bowl for larger batch
once I find I transfer to a larger bowl for larger batch
larger batch
larger batch
paste should look something like this. feels like velvet on the skin. so soft..
paste should look something like this. feels like velvet on the skin. so soft..
I start with my face and shoulders
I start with my face and shoulders
applied paste to the back of my body..
applied paste to the back of my body..
Then add this paste to each arm until dries..
Apply paste to affected areas..and let it dry to an almost crackle..
My leg..an uneven burn at that..
My leg..an uneven burn at that..
the other arm..
the other arm..
Once paste is dry on skin, add the remainder cornstarch batch to a cool bath for a soak
Once paste is dry on skin, add the remainder cornstarch batch to a cool bath for a soak
Next day, much better.. not quite so red and certainly less hot..
Next day, much better.. not quite so red and certainly less hot and achy..

I don’t recommend falling a sleep and getting a sunburn to test this remedy.  However, should you happen to sunburn, I most certainly recommend  it.   As for me, I often forget that we, here in Los Angles, have what is called “Indian Summer”.  SO, summer isn’t over for me.  September and October are usually hot and beach days a many.  This time, I will remember to apply more sunscreen.

Until Next Time..

recycled rice sack and sunscreen.. ready!..
recycled rice sack beach bag and sunscreen.. ready!..

 

Leave a Reply

