Italy for Breakfast in America? Yes, please.

IMG_3172Food 52 always gets it right. Watermelon Campari Granita, Lemon Granita, Raspberry Cantaloupe.  Seriously drooling just looking at their granita photos and reading recipes.  Having way to many oranges than I know what to do with thanks to my very generous neighbor, I think. With my take it or leave it attitude towards orange juice, I decide what to do. You guessed it by now.  At this point, I can’t wait for mid-course dinner time.  Summer breakfast, Italian style.  Orange lemon granita.

Granita is a Sicilian semi-frozen dessert often served up as a palate cleanser in between courses during a meal.  Also served as a sweet cold refreshing breakfast treat (especially in my case).  Basically, not to minimize, granita is fruit flavored ice water that fluffed with a fork several times during a freezing process. Texture similar to that and somewhere between shaved ice and sorbet.

This is my first try.  A little sweeter than I would have like, so I add some extra juices from lemons. That how the lemon came about. And the added pulp (includes the rind) for a bit of additional texture and bitterness.  Quite delicious.  And you know me, photo shooting is on!  My yellow glasses from my Mother’s vintage Poppytrail glassware certainly comes in handy.

juice about 2-3 cups of OJ..this happens for me in my OMEGA Cold Press Style Juicer
juice about 2-3 cups of OJ..this happens for me in my OMEGA Cold Press Style Juicer

IMG_3166-2

IMG_3167-2
here comes the OJ
pulp added into my mixture for texture and a bit of bitterness (whole orange is juiced)
pulp added into my mixture for texture and a bit of bitterness (whole orange is juiced)

 

IMG_5406
almost finished

IMG_5357

IMG_5406

FullSizeRender-50

IMG_3172

IMG_3170
orange wheels?
IMG_3171
maybe basil will photograph better..

IMG_5364

At some point during the photo shooting, I think what the H.E. double L am I doing. Time to just eat! This Yuuummmm is melting.

Check out FOOD52 for different fruit flavored granita recipes (see below) or create your own.

Lemon Granita

Watermelom Campari Granita

Raspberry Cantaloupe Granita

Until Next Time..

2016-08-05 08-50-57 -0700

2016-08-05 08-51-18 -0700

Related:

Sweet Orange Granita

 

Leave a Reply

