Blue Apron

IMG_2956Food. Recipes. Organized (and cute) packaging. Temperature controlled boxes. Delivery to the front door.  Convenient.  Fresh ingredients. Environmentally conscious.  Well thought menus with step by step instructions.  Yes, please! Great for someone that wants to learn to cook (me) and be introduced to certain spices and combinations of foods.  Great for a single Mom of one. Great for a couple needing not to think about what to cook for dinner three nights a week or a single person looking for six meals a week. In addition to wanting to learn to cook (I eat many an omelettes), I am also the single person looking for six meals a week.  I love some leftovers.  So, if you like any or all of what I mention above, Blue Apron is for you.  Vegetarian options are available.  If I like, I can send up to five free trial meals. So lemme know.  That is how I got started.  Wine rep, Natalie introduces me (thanks again Natalie).  Let’s say, you are out of town for a week or two or prefer to make a trip to the market?  No problem. Skip a week. Or two.  Easy as a click.  Speaking of easy and wine, you can upgrade and order wine from Blue Apron as well.  Blue Apron lists appropriate wine pairings on menu cards so you can buy one at your local wine shop or market if that suits you better. Why would you?  If delivery is coming anyway, why not go all the way.  Sometimes standing in the market looking at all those wines can be intimidating.  Let someone else do it for you.  Oh and if you do skip, Blue Apron still emails you the recipe card so you can make the meal at some other time.

Take a look at some of the meals I prepared below.  I get to work on my food photography and food styling here (sort of)!  I was mostly too hungry by the time I got to this point in the day.  By the end, I did get better at managing my hunger and cooking while photo shooting has become easier.  One would think I have this figured out by now, but I don’t.

first delivery in the early evening
first delivery in the early evening

IMG_9100

menu cards
menu cards
recipes and instructions
recipes and instructions
wine information
wine information
fun facts
fun facts
Mayo int my thing so this ingredient didn't make it to my recipe but look at this well presented packaging. Cute.
Mayo isn’t  my thing so this ingredient didn’t make it to my recipe but look at this well presented packaging. Cute.
IMG_3011
the cutest
IMG_1426-2
organized in my fridge drawer
eggs securely packages like this..the cutest
more on the packaging .. functionality ..eggs securely packages like this..

 

Meal #1

Seared Steak and Spiced Potatoes

steak and greens with a delicious Lebanese yogurt tarragon sauce
steak and greens with a delicious Lebanese yogurt tarragon sauce

IMG_0075

IMG_0074

IMG_2490

IMG_0092

step by step instructions.. season meat while vegetable is cooking or cook meet while prepping other items
step by step instructions.. season meat while vegetable is cooking or cook meet while prepping other items
meat resting before cutting
meat resting before cutting..juicy is important here..
cooking the beans in the brown bits from the steak.. yummmmmm
cooking the beans in the brown bits from the steak.. yummmmmm
meal one was easy and I have left overs for tomorrow. I chose to drink Chianti from the Trader Joe's with this one.. I like it..
meal one was easy and I have left overs for tomorrow. I chose to drink Chianti from the Trader Joe’s with this one..

Meal #2

Fried Chicken and Kale Slaw with Sweet Potatoes

Cooking for two and so hungry and chasing light from my kitchen window, I don’t get as many pictures here.. so please enjoy the after..

Crispy chicken with sweet potato fries
Crispy chicken with Kale salad and sweet potato fries

Meal #3

Ginger Pork Burgers

look how cute the packaging is..so organized. Well thought out Blue Apron.
look how cute the packaging is..so organized. Well thought out Blue Apron.

IMG_0749

IMG_2491

IMG_0775

IMG_0815

IMG_0829

Meal #4

Empanadas with tomato cucumber salad

IMG_2953
meat and spices
IMG_1348
Expands waiting for the oven…

IMG_1341

IMG_1412
working on editing a bit and food styling while I am at it..

Meal #5

Spicy Hoisin Turkey Meatballs

the goods. these cute little packages never get old
the goods. these cute little packages never get old
rice starting..
rice starting..
mis en plus
mis en plus
mixing all together
mixing all together

IMG_9280

rice with sesame seeds
rice with sesame seeds

IMG_1247

As you can see, Blue Apron offers quite the variety. I am always excited to get my box of goodies each week.  I certainly recommend Blue Apron service.  Cooking has become more organized and I am learning to work with ingredients in different ways.  I often go into Chopped challenge basket mode so to follow a well thought out recipe with fresh ingredients at my finger tips makes providing nourishment to by body easier.  I also bake more than I actually cook.  Cookies for dinner isn’t a good idea every night.  Especially when it is NOT running season.  Check out Blue Apron’s website.  Try it, if you can.  $60 a week for three meals for two.  That’s $10 per meal. Minus the wine, of course.  Not bad.  Have fun, drink good wine and most of all, cook.  Bon Appetit!

Until Next Time…

IMG_9900

 

 

Leave a Reply

