DIY: Food Photo Shooting!

IMG_2597Food photography +lighting +great looking I want to sink my teeth into that Michelin Star Chef’s prepared dish or the latest James Beard Award Winning Pastry Chef’s confections requires a bit of work to look so appetizing.  Most of the time photographed food isn’t even cooked or the actual ingredient you think.  Many photographers do shoot real food these days though, Andrew Scrivani NY Times food photographer is one that does.  (I took an online Craftsy.com class taught by him)  Regardless, lighting is important.  It really does make the shot, and despite my novice, even I know this.

I like to shoot real food and I mostly take pictures in my home, in my kitchen and with natural light and white foam boards from Office Depot.  While lately I am more of a publisher it seems featuring other people’s recipes and finds and producing little, if anything innovative myself, there are benefits to this.  As a result, in this case, my food photo shoots just got a whole lot better without breaking the bank. Yours will too if you want to get crafty and DIY it. Thanks to SKILLSHARE! See their light box and mine below!

Here is my first build:

Supply List:

Box(s)Packing Tape, Tape Measure, Box Cutter, Scissors, Pencil, two Clamp Lamps, Ramekins, Tissue paper, Light Bulbs

IMG_2523-2
After wording several Blue Apron (blog post coming soon) decided to reuse boxes
IMG_2521
smaller light box build
IMG_1493
Cut through the top and needed to tape.. will try with the Home Depot box next..
IMG_2520
I use white tissue paper and clear packing tape

IMG_1488-2

IMG_2555
testing out different bulbs from the Home Depot
Will soon insert skim.. this on is an iPhone photo. i opted not to my phone as a remote on this one..
I will soon insert white background.. this on is an iPhone photo. I opt not to use my phone as a remote on this one..
white paper insert. shiny and dull side available. I forgot to buy the poster board. Opps. #makingitwork
white paper insert. shiny and dull side available. I forgot to buy the poster board. Opps. Use some paper from my home craft box #makingitwork
Easy. Ta-dah! I did it! Building my second one right now..
First box. Easy. Ta-dah! I did it! Building my second one right now..
Time to make the second box.. you get the idea. This one is taller..
Time to make the second box.. you get the idea. This one is taller..great for cakes on a stand when I don’t want to use the Office Depot foam board to reflect light..
Box 2. Home Depot larger box
Box 2. Home Depot larger box
two boxes
two boxes
testing out first box and first set of bulbs
testing out first box and first set of bulbs
up close crust for dessert
up close crust for dessert
more test shots
more test shots

 

My DIY light boxes were fun to make.  If DIY isn’t your forte Samy’s Camera sells similar one for a little more cost than I spent making mine (all my supplies included).  If you do DIY it, all items I purchased at Home Depot (except tissue paper).  Home Depot boxes work best for me so far as they are quite sturdy. I chose two different style of light bulbs, Phillips Dura Max 65 W and ECOSMART 100W.  Colored lights or different colored tissue papers are something I will try next on my boxes coming as well.  Have fun and happy shooting!

Until Next Time…

2016-07-30 06-47-25 -0700

 

Leave a Reply

